Why doesn’t the tech press use iPods?

As far as I can tell, no one in the tech press uses an iPod touch on a daily basis. How do I know this? iPad 2 reviews. Almost everyone has commented on the “strange dock connector” which forces some of the plug to be exposed due to the angled back. My iPod also has an angled rear case, and the plug is exposed when I dock it. I tested an iPad 2 in stores, and the cable looked and felt exactly the same to me as my 2 year old iPod. I doubt anyone who uses an iPod touch often would complain about this or even find it unusual.

Also, there have been many reports on Apple using its new pogo pin headphone jack to reduce space requirements. This was patented a while ago, but no one noticed them using the same part on my 2008 iPod touch. If you have one, peek down the headphone jack with a flashlight and you’ll see. If not, take a look at this part from Amazon:

And here’s the iPad 2 jack, from a 9 to 5 Mac article about LCIs in the iPad. It’s split open, but it sure looks like the same pin structure as you see in the very tip of the first picture.

I haven’t ever needed to replace my headphone jack so I can’t be 100% certain, but it makes sense. The whole point was to reduce the space needed for a headphone jack, and the iPod touch 2g is still one of the thinnest things Apple has ever produced. Maybe one day the jack will fail and I can replace it and know for sure, but I’d prefer that not to happen.

Edit: I’m equally as sure that this part is used on the iPod shuffle as well. There are definitely no cantilever contacts, and it sure looks like the latest patent.

Leave a Reply

